Going Back In Time…

16 May

I just realized I missed noting some things that happened in the last week or two.

Who Girl’s been home for a few weeks now.  I’m so glad she’s home to entertain me.  Summer break from college is my favorite.  My boys just don’t “get me”.   Last Friday, while Brucee (youngest son) was at soccer practice, she and I bummed around collegetown.  We shopped, ate, talked and laughed.  Love that.

After I choked on gelatin bubbles from Bubble Island drinks (Who Girl’s favorite) we wandered in the alley (lovely, right).  Besides “people watching” (my absolute favorite) we checked out these art-y things.  They resembled metal fencing with ripped up t-shirts tied on them.  Art is whatever you call art, I s’ppose.  I could totally be an artist.  I know this.  I need to show the world the crazy crap bouncing around in my head just like this artist did…

,

I smell garbage.

I know I need to let it go but I ran a 5k on Friday, May 4th.  I did my best 5k ever that night and I ended up being 3rd in my age group.  I ran (gasped, snorted, stomped) it in 22 minutes and 39 seconds.  Boo YAAAAA!  And to make it even grander,  I realized I got a trophy a week after the fact.  SCORE!!!  I put it on Mick’s dresser and it disappeared.  I think he trashed it.  I keep forgetting to ask him about it.

Real gold plastic. I’m not sh*tting you.

When I run, I know I need to worry about how Shelly does and how Shelly does ONLY.  My mom lectures me about this.  BUT.  Sometimes it pumps me up to see that I’ve beaten someone who is much younger and is known to be a cross-country star.  So, anywho, I noticed this certain someone ended up being a little slower than me and I smiled to myself.  Lalalalalalala……Well, the laughs on me because I discovered later that this person ran with both a baby and stroller (must do both or that’d be weird).  When my boys were little, I tried running with a jogger stroller and it killed my lower back.  Downright painful.  I think running with a jogger is very hard work.  Without the baby and stroller this person would have kicked my ass.  That’s karma for me.  I know, I deserved it.  So again, “Shelly, just worry about your own damn run and no one else’s.”

~~

I didn’t exercise at all yesterday.  At about 8pm, I jumped on my bike with the good intentions of looking for Who Girl who was supposed to be running 7 miles on her own.  My showing up would have been a surprise…  my gift to her.  Sadly, I was sidetracked by neighbors.  I ended up sitting on their beautiful back deck in my jammies (yes I was going to ride my bike in town in my jammies — IT’S NO BIG DEAL).  Oh, and Mick was there chit chatting before I got there.  BJ, another neighbor, meandered over too.  Good, fun stuff.  I lost track of time, visiting with my great neighbors while listening to the tree frogs without being attacked by mosquitoes.  Who Girl managed to make it home before I did.  So glad she was safe (such a good mom I am).

~~

Today, I worked 4-8pm so the morning was mine to do as I pleased.  At 10:44am, I ran 10.56 miles with an average mile/minute of 8:27.  I was wearing my Vibram FiveFingers.  I was a bit uncomfortable because not only did I have a piece of kitty litter in my left shoe (no, I didn’t feel like stopping to remove the kitty litter), I also had a sliver under my left toe.  I’ve had the sliver for a few days but I cannot, for the life of me, find the dang thing to remove it.

~~

FUN PURCHASE — I bought a vintage-y sign in town today…

Just bought this today.  If you're not shaking...

CRACK…ME…UP!

Night Peeps!

Leave a Reply

