5k Tonight!!

4 May

Hey!  Yo!  Yeah, I still exist.  Just being a lazy bee-otch…

WTH!  It got warm in Michigan and I don’t know what to do with myself.  I’ve had two failed runs in the last 2 days.  I can only think of blaming the weather for my crappy runs because what else could I blame it on?

Wednesday, I ran 6.58 miles.  I walked a lot of it.  Average mile/minute was 10:11.  Sinus? Warmer weather?  I have no idea what happened.

Yesterday, I ran 7.89 miles but that was after stopping 3 times for water.  My brain felt like it was going to explode.  I wanted to throw up.  With 3 1/2 miles to go, I went into Urgent Care and asked to use their phone so I could call for a pickup.  Shame.  I felt lots of shame.  I know I shouldn’t but I really told myself off for being a failure.  My average mile/minute ended up being 8:32.  Not bad but that’s because I cheated by not finishing the run.

I have to get acclimated to this heat soon.

Last night, my daughter and I went with my husband to his gym so that she and I could do Zumba.  I sucked at it (for the 3rd time).  This  Zumba was advanced because the instructor was being super fancy.  I did my own thing…a lot.  I sweat a ton so I’m not mad.  I got a good workout out of the deal.  After Zumba, Who Girl and I jumped on the elliptical (Precor) for 30 minutes.  I loved that machine.  I could have gone forever on it.

I  was so tired last night.  I didn’t hear the horrible thunder storms because I was in some kind of coma.

At work, there’s always a bunch o’ crap all of the kitchen counters.  Coupons, the bus schedule, and 50 outdated magazines are the usual crap that lies there.  Today, a new item showed up….

A Pure Romance catalog.

Oh my.  Let’s get this straight.  I am NOT a prude.  BUT!  I can’t help but feel for the unsuspecting coworker who is clueless as to what the PR catalog offers. Now I do wish that when that unsuspecting coworker picks up and pages through (waiting for their Lean Cuisine to warm up in the micro) that I could see the look on their face when they see all the lovely pictures.  Ha!  I’m sure this catalog will disappear really soon.   Management will see it and will promptly get rid of it.  I know this to be true.

Tonight I’m doing a 5k race.  I don’t typically sign up for 5k’s or I should say I haven’t done one for a while.  The one that I’m doing tonight is a special 5k to my family and I.  My dad died at the age of 62 on October 24th 2011.   Before he died, he was the race marshal for this 5k.  It’s a silly thing but it’s cute.  He was so funny so he would have been a great race marshal.  My little sis arranged for most of my family to run or walk the 5k tonight in remembrance of my dad.  He was a great guy and we miss him terribly.  I’m hoping I don’t run while bawling as that’d be super lame.  I’m going to keep it  together.  I can do this.

Linda Sheffer Peterson

Leave a Reply

