Parkour!!!

23 Mar

I woke up this morning tired.  No, I’m not hungover.  I only had 2 Margaritas last night after dinner.  We met up with some other families and then stayed to watch the big MSU basketball game (they lost = SUCKKSSS).

Before my family and I met up with other families of Brucee’s basketball team, I got my run on.  It was 80 degrees or so but it was dreary out.  It looked like it was going to rain but The Weather Channel said 30% chance of rain (actually thunderstorms).  I chose to IGNORE.

At 4:23pm, I put on my Fivefingers and took off on a run.  I started out really slow until I noticed on my Garmin that I needed to get a move on.  It was nice and breezy.  No sun.  No music.  I was so happy.  I felt a raindrop here and there but still chose to keep moving on.  NO FEAR.  Besides, I had no choice since I left my phone at home.  The only thing I had was my Garmin and my pepperspray.

After about 4 miles, the sky started falling.  It felt so good.  There was a river of water going down sidewalks and the streets.  Water was splashing all over from my plunging through huge puddles of water.  I didn’t need to stop for a drink because water was falling so fast, I had to just keep licking my lips and my thirst was quenched.  I ran by the ice cream parlor and everyone cheered.  I was like, “yes, I’m crazy and cool. I love running in the downpour.  I don’t care”.  Oh, I was loving it.  So happy.

BUT…Then… The thunder started.  Then the lightning strikes started and I was starting to freak out a little.  Every strike, I instinctively winced and cover my ears.  I looked like a dork.  I mean, forget what I looked like.  Mick would have been pissed that I was being so careless running in those dangerous conditions.  We have three kids and I need to be around to help with them.  Dumb.  But did I stop and borrow a phone to call home?  NO, I hid.  I hid in hopes that Mick and kids weren’t freaking out at home wondering where I was.

I stood next to a clubhouse in an apartment complex for around 10 minutes.(maybe 20), hiding like a wet rat.  Funny, my lips were numb from being pelted by the huge rain drops.  I kept doing the “one one thousand, two one thousand, three one thousand” after every lightning strike cause I’m goofy in hopes that the storm would move away?!

Finally, it seemed to be letting up so I started booking home.  I parkoured over mudpuddles like I was a majestic beast.  I’m real.  I know I looked stupid.

Ha, I love that word, “book”.  We used to say it when we were little.  Did you used to say that too?

I was dripping....

I made it home in time to get cleaned up for dinner.  No worries.  It honestly was probably the most fun I’ve ever had running.  It was thrilling.  I ended up running a total of 7.66 miles with an average mile/minute of 8:20.

I took today off work.  My boys both have soccer tournaments this weekend and when I asked for the time off, I didn’t know if I truly needed today off or not.

Heck no.  I’m not cancelling a day off.  It’s hard to get time off where I work so I’m not giving it up.

PRANKS — At my work, people mess with each other.  They probably do that at most workplaces.  Chelsea messed with Steve a couple months ago by wrapping everything, I mean everything on his desk.

Keyboard, pens...you name it. They got wrapped.

Well, Chelsea messed with another person and yesterday was her payback day.  She walked in with 4 minutes to spare.  She was freaking out trying to get through the mess to her computer.  It was early and she didn’t seem too happy about it….

I do NOT know why she has snowflakes on her desk. That wasn't part of the prank.

SWAGGLIN’ — Do you Swaggle?  I did.  I got two pairs of compressions socks for $50.  That’s half off, my friends.  Check it out!  I got my socks in yellow and pink (in a smaller size so I can loose feeling in my lower limbs).

RANDOM — Oh, and I’m now addicted to Pinterest (not pronounced Pin Interest).  YOu can really see what a goofy person I am out there.  You can see how I must think I’m 25 years old by the crazy things I pin.  I’m sick I tell ya.  Lovin’ it!!!

Leave a Reply

