My First Rodeo…

6 Mar

Yesterday was good.  Today was better.

It was a beautiful day in Michigan.  It got up to 54 degrees which is perfect running weather.  Yay.  I couldn’t wait to get home from work at noon.

I got home at 12:30, got dressed for a run, went outside and decided it was too cold to go without a coat.  Bummed.  I really wanted to run without all the extra layers.

I went back inside, defeated.  I ate.  I told myself I’d run later.  It felt like the same as any other day where I blow off my run.  I was sad.

After a couple of hours, I went outside to check to see what it felt like.  It was super windy but with full sun. Beautiful.  NO gloves, no jacket, no winter hat.

At 2:54pm, I ran 8.72 miles with an average mile/minute of 8:29.  I was sore but that had to have been because I ran two days in a row and it’s been awhile since I’ve pulled that off.

My husband, Mick, lifts weights faithfully 6 days a week.  He religiously goes to the gym most mornings.  He’s lookin’ good.  Mmmm, mmmm, mmm!  I looked up where he works out just out of curiosity and saw that they offer a bunch of classes.  I’ve always wanted to try Zumba and they offer a Zumba class at 6:30pm on Tuesdays.  I brought it up to Mick and we didn’t talk about it much more than that.  When I got out of work,  to my surprise, he said that I could go to Zumba tonight and he’d go with me to do some extras he missed this morning.  I told him I preferred a run instead of Zumba.  His response made me think he was disappointed that I wasn’t taking advantage of going.  After my run, I decided I needed to try Zumba for the first time… Tonight!  Who cares if I didn’t know what I was doing.  Who cares if I dressed wrong.  Who cares if the class was full (I get weird if I don’t have my protective, imaginery bubble).

Since my legs were sore, I put on my lime green compression socks.  I paired them with a merino wool tank top and some yoga shorts.  I heard shoes without traction were best so I put on some old, worn out running shoes.  Voila!  I looked like a dork.  Mick must have thought so too.  Before we left, in his most careful voice, he asked if I was going to take the socks off.  No, my legs hurt,  the socks were staying on for all the muscle heads to see.

Rhonda, the instructor, had the most dynamite body.  Another girl told me Rhonda competes in bodybuilding.  It was very obvious.  Her body was like POW!!  Her abs were out of this world.  She had crazy amounts of energy.  She started out simple for people like me but she put some crazy moves in there for the regulars.  I struggled once we got going but I was sweating my ass off so I must have been doing something right?!  After an hour, I met up with Mick.  He got us a couple of blueberry/banana protein drinks.  Yummmm…

My phone had 10 texts from my boys saying they were starving and begging for us to come home.  We picked up some Jet’s pizza.  Boring pepperoni and mushroom for the boys but my daughter insisted on a feta cheese and mild pepper pizza for us biggin’s.  Good stuff.

Like I said before, it was a really good day.  I’m glad I went outside of my comfort zone.  I don’t need someone to hold my hand.  I can drop in a class with a bunch of strangers.  I did see a girl’s piercing that I decided I had to have. She was so cute.  Mick says “no” but he’s NOT my boss.  Silly fool for thinking I’d listen to him. It was a dermal piercing on the back of her neck/upper back.  Three or four years ago, I got a dermal in my neck (actually 3 different times) and they all failed.  This girl has had hers since May 2011. I asked where she got hers done and she said Vegas.  Boo.

Mick, can we go to Vegas? 

Leave a Reply

