Cell Phone In My Left Hand. Pepper Spray In My Right….

5 Feb

I must have been the only person in my town not watching the Super Bowl.  It’s just not my thing.  I pulled into grocery store’s parking lot and noticed immediately how no one was there.   It looked like Christmas Eve.

Bum deal though because the half time show with Madonna, Cee Lo, Nicki Minaj and LMFAO IS MY THING and I missed it.  Damn it!!

What evs.  I’ll see it on HULU or some other Youtubey site.

Earlier today, my mom and I went and saw the movie, “One For The Money”.  If you’re from outer space then you wouldn’t know that it’s based on the Janet Evanovich series of books.  Loved it!!  Remember though that I like/love all movies so I’m a horrible critic.

I think the only movie I didn’t like was the Pokemon movie I took my boys to around 8 years ago.   Yeah, that was killer.

Precisely at 2:58pm, I, Shelly Lynne, ran 12.18 miles with an average mile/minute of 8:15.  I’ll add it was gorgeous for Michigan today.  The temp was 37 degrees (felt like 34).  It was sunny.  Nice.  It was happy weather which I really needed.

I’m getting more and more comfortable running outside again.  The nicer weather helps but I’m sure it’s because I have both my phone and pepper spray in hand for my runs now.   I used to love running with my hands free but it’s just not smart.

It’s been sad around my house since Friday.  My father-in-law, Mick’s dad, is in the hospital.  I’m not exaggerating when I say that Mick saved his life on Friday.  He found his dad Friday morning and called 911.  Now, my FIL is in ICU hooked up to a dialysis machine.  He has a really bad infection among numerous other problems.   I had to wear a gown and gloves to visit him this evening because they say his infection is contagious.

I can’t feel sorry for myself because all I can think about his how Mick feels.  This is rough on him.  My wonderful, beautiful MIL died in 2006 so Mick’s dad needs to get better.

My own father died October 24th.  My heart still feels very heavy.  I tear up a lot when I think of him.  And, I think of him a lot.

My family and I (including Mick) spent a lot of time at the hospital with my dad.  It was hard.  Being up in that hospital with my FIL is bringing everything back.  I see them doing things with my FIL that they did to my dad.  I have to keep telling myself that this isn’t deja vu.  Mick and I are NOT going to lose another parent.

We now have 3 dogs and 4 cats.  Now I know we live in a barn.  There’s lots of fur to vacuum.  My house feels like it’s never clean anymore.

Our new addition is my FIL’s Maltese.  She’s so cute.  She’s very sweet and she gets along with all of our animals.  It’ll be hard to give her back to Mick’s dad when he comes home.

I’m trying to think happy thoughts.  I’ll have a little joy on Tuesday because I get to get my hair done.

I’m supposed to go up north with the girls this coming weekend.  With all that’s going on, it’s possible I won’t be going now.

Life happens….   It definitely has my attention.

Leave a Reply

