Fleas!!!

29 Jan

Snow today.  Only three inches but it seemed like more since it was coming down all day.

Met with my mom and Grandma for their weekly breakfast.  I looked like a dork like I typically do on a Sunday morning.  I usually get lucky and I don’t see anyone I know but of course, I see an ex-boyfriend.  I was like 4 foot away from him before he turned around and looked me right in the eye and said, “hi”.   I died right there (not really).

I’m usually good about seeing someone I know and then avoiding them but there was no way out this time.  He saw me and he saw me in my men’s navy blue Russell sweatpants, men’s Hane’s t-shirt and the dorkiest of snow boots any girl could own from Meijer (I love these boots even if they’re dorky).

Why should I care?  I shouldn’t.  I just do.

Who Girl came home this weekend.  We shopped.  We ate.  I didn’t spend much but I really enjoyed hanging out with her.  I’m moody but she puts up with me.  It’s hard to believe she’s going to be a Senior in college this fall.  She’s doing so well.  Too bad she’ll have another 4-5 years after this next year once she enters a pharmacy program.

For fun, Who put a bunch of these knuckle rings on.  They were on sale.  Can you imagine why?  I wouldn’t wear one, let alone all four.

Mad Eagle in East Lansing. I love this store...

I did get her the headband she’s wearing above.

Sooooo.  I follow people on Twitter posting their runs.  Reading about their runs is incentive which helps fire me up to run myself but nothing was getting me out the door today.  It was so cold and windy and the ground was super slippery (icy and covered with fresh snow).   My left butt cheek near my tailbone hurts so I thought falling on the ice would be super bad.

At 7:30pm, I finally got on my vintage elliptical machine.  Sixty-five minutes done.  I’ve used it twice and I can’t break it.  It’s going to take some time.  Momma wants a new one (or a slightly used one).

Earlier today, Who came to me with my little chi chi, Bella in hand.  She said she saw a black bug on her.  It was fast and she couldn’t get it.  Instantly I felt like my whole body was covered with cooties.  FLEAS!!! Major goosebumps.

I have a golden retriever, a chihuahua and 4 cats.  Oh, things got expensive.  I ran to Meijer and got the good flea medicine.  I used to buy the $12 stuff (because I’m cheap) but the vet’s assistant told me to never buy the cheap stuff (Sergeant’s/Hartz) because she said they’re very poisonous and they aren’t always effective.  The bet’s assistant said she’s seen an animal (cat or dog I forgot which) die from the owner using the cheap stuff on the animal.

So,  I bought Frontline Plus (3 pack) for my dogs $50 and Advantage II (4 pack) for the cats $55.  I also bought the $7 powder for the cat tree and for sprinkling the cats’ favorite sleeping areas.

We’ve never had fleas in all the years we’ve had pets so this is shocking to me.  I say fleas because even though I’ve only seen one, I have to assume there’s many, many more.

Great.  More to angst about.

I posted the pic below yesterday on Twitter but it’ so disturbing, I have to post again.   When I first saw it, I just stared at it in amazement.

Somebody! Anybody! Please find out who she is and give her $$$ to pull those implants out. Is she 35 or 65?!

Leave a Reply

