The Joker’s Wife..

14 Dec

OOPS – I’ve made the same mistake twice now.   You all know I’m new in the coffee drinking world.  It’s working out nicely for me.  My boss told me that McDonald’s coffee is 2nd best to Dunkin’ Donuts so I’ve ordered a large Caramel Latte  (330 calories and 9 grams of fat) from McDonald’s twice now.  I didn’t think there’d be any harm to this but I was told, after being laughed at, that if I didn’t request with skim milk then I was sabotaging myself by drinking these high calorie, high fattening drinks.  I now know that I need to order with skim milk.  Lesson learned.

Today’s forecast predicted a 70% chance of rain all day.  I like a challenge (as long as it’s easy and doesn’t hurt).  Cold (36 degrees but felt like 30) plus rain equals a good challenge.  With several pep talks to myself (yes, I talk to myself a lot….usually outloud).   I finally got it together and decided on something to wear.  Sometimes they call Mick, “The Joker” (he’s known to be a major fibber) so I thought I could be the Joker’s wife for my run by wearing one of The Who’s old hats (my daughter) from when she was in 6th grade.  Glad I kept this beautiful accessory.

Dry, happier times

I knew realistically that I’d need more clothing so I threw on a sweatshirt.

At 10:46am, I ran 11.11 miles.  The first 4 miles were nice.  The last 7 were torturous.  I was totally saturated.  I was soaked so bad, I felt like I was running in a swimming pool.  If Mick would have driven by, I would have waved him down in those last 2 miles because I was seriously miserable.  My average mile/minute was 8:48 (best 8:20 — worst 9:14).  I was so glad when it was over.

Nice double-chin, eh?

I was supposed to work a 4-8pm shift but I had to head into work early for a 2pm Compliance meeting.

I had an awesome Santa Fe salad beforehand (avocado, alfalfa sprouts, pickles) from Submarina.

Even though the weather was dark and dreary today, it was a nice day for me.

Leave a Reply

