Pizza With A Cauliflower Crust…

19 Nov

I woke up, had some coffee and then decided to hit the road.

At 8:39am, I ran 9.02 miles with an average mile/minute of 8:12.  I listened to my Ipod Shuffle.  It was chilly and I should have worn a hat.  The first five miles were uneventful but then I needed a restroom because I could feel tummy troubles a comin’.   I felt kind of bad for stopping at one our town’s favorite stores and ruining their bathroom.  Oops.

I wanted to spend the day with my mom at her house and it worked out because my kids didn’t have any plans.

My mom’s a character.  She’s got a lot of interest in making bizarre “healthy” things.  She tries to sneak healthy items in your food.  After making something, she’s just dying to ask, “so, did you like that?”.  That’s a huge red flag.   It basically means she has snuck something weird into your food.  It’s no longer surprising when she does it.

Today’s goal was her making a pizza that had a crust made completely with cauliflower (plus some italian spices and fresh garlic).  Yes, that’s strange.  No, there’s no way it could taste good, right?  We razzed her all day about it being a very bad idea.  I was brutal — I told her that she’d be the only one eating it.  She was undeterred and made it anyways.   Once it was it was baked, I was surprised how good it looked?!   And, surprise, surprise, it tasted good too.  The crust of the pizza tasted very much like a normal pizza crust.  Now, I won’t be eating it again anytime soon but my mom pulled it off.

Marla, my little sis, recommended two books that I’ve recently requested from the library — A Stolen Life: A Memoir by Jaycee Lee Dugard and Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me by Mindy Kaling.

So, has anyone watched, The Wild and Wonderful White’s of West Virginia, yet?  I still can’t get over how crazy those people were.

Leave a Reply

