You Tried What?

19 Oct

I had what I thought was a clever idea.  My clever ideas usually aren’t….clever.

I loathe the treadmill.  The weather’s been suckee here in Michigan the last couple of days.  I haven’t run since the 26 miles I ran on Sunday.  Earlier today, I dressed for a cold run, started walking down the driveway and turned around and went back in my dry, warm house.  Fail!

I worked til 8 tonight and just felt the need to jump on the treadmill when I got home.  I wanted to keep things simple by going shoeless/sockless.  It felt really good….at first.

At 6 mph and an incline of one, I ran 3.62 miles in approximately thirty minutes.  At 2 1/2 miles, I felt some burning under my left food.  IGNORE.  At 3.62, I was curious what the bottoms on my feet looked like.  There were 2 raw spots under my left foot.  Hopped off the treadmill and put socks on.  Nope.  That felt pretty awful too so I had to stop.

At both my 1/2 marathon in September and the full on Sunday, there were barefoot runners.  Whether they ran 13 or 26 miles, I find it amazing that someone could run on a road or sidewalk without some type of protection on their feet.  I mean, even if you worked your way up to 13 miles, your skin would fall off.  I wish I would have seen those runners after the races so I could have asked them how their feet felt (or what they looked like).

FEEL FREE TO COMMENT ON WHETHER YOU’VE RUN BAREFOOT ON THE ROAD BEFORE.  AND IF SO, HOW FAR DID YOU GO?

Leave a comment