Marathon Done!

16 Oct

Completed the Grand Rapids (MI) marathon today.  I was frantic beforehand.  I got there late and almost had a nervous breakdown because I swore I was going to miss the start of the race.  My daughter (support person) and I were going to go to Grand Rapids last night so that we could zip over to the race this morning but I didn’t want to leave last night when it came down to it.  I thought we could leave at 5:45am and get there on time.  Dark, rainy, people everywhere and no parking spots were most of the speed bumps we encountered.

My Garmin registered the 26.3 race with a completion time of 3:43 hours (an average mile/min of 8:29am).  The results aren’t up on the website yet.  I’ll check again tomorrow to see what my official time was.

It was 48 degrees and rainy in the beginning.  I fashioned arm warmers out of unmatched soccer socks (cut the toes off).  I got the idea from my friend, Sue.  This worked really well.  I kept them on until mile 10 and just trashed them.

I don’t carry anything.  I can’t stand carrying stuff.  I indulged in race supplied Gatorade, water, 2 Gu’s and an orange slice and believe it or not, pickle juice.  I love the pickle juice.  I can’t say that everyone would love the pickle juice but really like pickles so it was really good to me.  Weird because I’ve only had Gu once.  It was vanilla bean flavor and it was NASTY.  I grabbed a chocolate today because I was so afraid of crashing.  I loved the chocolate.  Seriously, it tasted like chocolate frosting.

So, the marathon was very hard on me.  Due to all the standing water, I stepped in a huge mud puddle at mile 3.  I wanted to walk several times but I resisted the urge.  I cannot imagine doing another marathon unless they offered like the whole line of Lole to me vs a measly shirt (for the same price I paid for this marathon which was $112.85).

Crazy daughter.  Today, she somehow talked me into a 5k on December 18th in Grand Rapids.  How’d she reel me in?  You get a Patagonia shirt for the $30 signup fee.

Beating the Grinch becomes the  runners challenge as he “slithers  and slunks,” looking for every short cut  to Whoville. Nothing to fear as Thing 1 and Thing 2 chase the Grinch down!

And, at the end, there’s hot chocolate and chocolate fountain goodies.  www.whoville5k.com  Besides talking me into doing the 5k, she talked all of us into doing it (even the 13-year-old who has only done 1-mile runs so far).  Brucee asked if he could still get the chocolate fountain if he didn’t sign up for the race (so I signed him up).   We’re going to freeze our arses off!!

3 Responses to “Marathon Done!”

  1. Jen October 17, 2011 at 6:29 am #

    huge congratulations on your marathon finish. and what an amazing time!

  2. Sarah October 17, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Great job, Shelly!

  3. @adriennewraps October 17, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    Really awesome finish! I love that you overcame the urge to walk–I ALWAYS give in! Very inspiring, you did great!!

Leave a Reply

