Be Nice To Me….

7 Oct

Be nice to me.  I gave blood.  As some of you probably know, the needle they use has a diameter the size of a regular size spaghetti noodle.  Whoa!  I think I’m going to wear this sticker everyday.  I need to take really good care of the sticker so it doesn’t get dog-eared or lose it’s stickiness to make it look believable.

Friday! Friday! FRIDAY!!

I couldn’t wait to go to work today.  Know why?  Yep, I wanted to enter myself in the drawing for the iPad2.  I hope I win.

At noon, I looked out the window for like birds, criminals and what-not and I saw a Red Cross Blood Mobile in our parking lot.  Hmmm.  I gave blood about 5 years ago and it didn’t go well.  I successfully donated but I got faint and they had to throw me on my back and put my legs in the air (I was wearing a dress at the time).  It was traumatic.  It messed me up and it took awhile for me to want to donate again.  I kept putting it off because I kept getting tattoos.  I thought I had to wait 12 months before donating after getting a tattoo but they must have change the rules because it’s okay now as long as you get your tattoo done in a sterile environment in a licensed facility.

I had time so I filled out all the paperwork and I answered all the questions (lived in Africa – NO, had sex with a man who had anal sex with another man – Umm, NO).  I was confident that this blood donation would go well because my body is tougher now and it could handle a little blood loss.

Look how happy I am.  Oh and look at the weirdee/creeper in the background.  I thought I was being slick doing a self  pic… NOT!

After you donate, they tell you how long it took.  My time was 6:21 minutes.  Not bad if I was running a mile.  It seemed to go so fast.  I don’t know how long it took to donate last time so I’m going to say that this was my personal best.  Should I try to beat my time next time?  Probably not.  Especially because I couldn’t feel my fingers and I couldn’t hear anything when she took the needle out.  Yes, I almost fainted again.  I hate feeling like a wussy-wuss, a helpless baby.  The girl next to me was having problems and the “bloodsuckers” were trying to help her.  I didn’t want to make too much of a stink but once I felt the heavy nausea rollin’ in, I had to say something.  They weren’t alarmed at all.  They put an ice pack behind my neck, put me on my back and threw my legs up in the air again  and cough.  Coughing gets the blood flowin’.

Pat on the back because I think I just saved like five lives.  Yeah, they’ll divvy that “super blood” up.

Glad I didn’t wear a skirt today.  I wore my newly purchased clearance yellow Banana Republic sweater.  I rarely pay full price for anything (except milk and meat).

My shoes are by Blowfish.

Poor Snookie.  She’s sad.  Her boyfriend didn’t like that she smooshed with Vinnie.  This picture of her isn’t flattering either.

She kind of looks like a cupie baby (maybe not).   Yes, I like reality TV.  I don’t drink coffee or smoke cigarettes so I get to have one bad habit, right?

LEGIT CONCERN — The blood donation FAQ online says that it takes 24 hours to replenish your missing blood supply but can take a few weeks to replenish your red blood cells.  I hope this doesn’t affect my marathon in 9 days.

PICKLE JUICE — I’m doing the Grand Rapids Marathon on October 16th and they’re advertising that at miles 15 and 19, they’ll have pickle juice for us.  I love pickles but not when I running.  I read that pickle juice is good during a strenuous workout because it helps replenish the salt content and electrolytes you’ve lost.  I’ll will be trying it.

RANDOM FACT — I really like the movie, From Paris With Love.  John Travolta was so hot in it.

No run today.  Bummed but I did a good thing today by donating.  This is the first time in months that I took two days off.  Hope I’m not too lazy to run tomorrow.

It’s so nice out.  The high today was 79 degrees.  Mick, the boys and I are going to the high school football game.  It’s Homecoming.

Leave a Reply

