#Runchat …It Was My First Time Tonight.

25 Sep

I didn’t run today because I did twenty (20)…two zero, veinte miles yesterday.  I still can’t believe it.  I mean, I did almost 18 miles a few weeks before but twenty seems so huge….cRaZY.  I was waiting to see how the twenty went to decide if I was going to sign up for the Grand Rapids marathon. 

Well….

In 20 days (October 16th), I’ll be running in the Grand Rapids marathon.  OMG!!

I can do this.  I know I can.  I’m not going to go really fast.  I’m not wearing a funny “look at me” costume (because I don’t want anyone to look at me).  But I will complete it.  I just hope I’m healthy for it since I was sick for the 1/2 marathon I did on September 18th. 

I realize I didn’t take a picture of myself today.  I’m sure NO ONE cares but it didn’t feel right to do a post and not include one picture, soooooo…..

It’s gritty.  It’s not pretty.  And, now you know one of my fears when I go to bed at night. 

I rode my bike.  It was kind of fun.  I rode for 11.32 miles.  It took me 58 minutes.  I stopped at my mom’s to get medicine for my poison ivy (and mooch food from her…more to follow on that excitement).  I returned something to the library.  I saved gas, right?

I was bad though.  I didn’t wear a helmet.  I rode to my mom and dad’s and she got after me for the helmet thing. 

I walked into her house and it smelled like grilled veggies.  She had black bean soup (Panera’s recipe she claimed), grilled veggies and raw, cut up veggies with humus sitting out on the counter.  I helped myself, of course  — I’m the daughter so I can do that, right?  Yeah, sure.

Took the boys to see the movie, Abduction.  Now if they cut out the kissy-kissy crap, I would say yes, I liked it.  All the sexual tension was embarrassing to watch in front of my sweet, innocent boys (13 1/2 and 15 1/2). 

Came home and made black bean soup.  I was craving it after the small bowl I had earlier.  The recipe I used was my mom’s (not the copycat Panera one) as well but super simple and fast.

I’ll share it:

Black Bean Soup

2 cans black beans

1/2 cup water

1/2 cup onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 can dice tomatoes (with jalapenos)

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/4 teaspoon cumin

Saute onion and garlic. Blend one can beans and 1/2 cup water.  Add to onion and garlic.  Add other can of beans and the other ingredients.  Bring to a boil. Simmer for a 1/2 hour. 

No picture of my finished product because then you wouldn’t want it.  Ha!!  No really, it’s good.  I will not share her black bean brownie recipe because that’s just wrong.  My dad cringes.  I love you, Mom!!

Being I waited until 8 o’clock to serve dinner (pork on the grill, zucchini, black bean soup, etc), I was a poorly performing participant in #runchat on Twitter.  I had no idea people actually chatted on #runchat?!  I was including #runchat on some of my new post announcements (not at the proper time, mind you).  I know, I’m a ding a ling.  I just happen to see warnings that #runchat was about to start (5 minutes, 4 minutes, 3 minutes….you get what I mean) while I was waiting for the potatoes and such to finish  up on the grill. 

8pm, ET on Sundays.  Be there or be stupid!!  If you run (not “if you have the runs”) you should check it out.

2 Responses to “#Runchat …It Was My First Time Tonight.”

  1. Holly September 26, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    Nice! You are already a marathon maniac. I just know it. Soon you will be running 50 and 100-mile ultras. There is no end in sight!

  2. Scott September 26, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Thanks for joining #runchat last night!

Leave a Reply

