Suicide Girls. Oh Yessss.

10 Aug

Yes, I’m wearing a Suicide Girls shirt for my run today.  It was a phase, a short-lived one, but a phase, nonetheless.  I was a little obsessed with those tattooed and pierced pin-up girls at one time.

I started my run at 9:14 am.  I ran 15.39 miles with an average mile of 8:35 minutes.  I felt pretty good today and I wanted to beat my longest run which was 14.35.  The weather was perfect.  It was sunny but it was cool at around 68 degrees. 

Plus, I got a bonus because I ran into my grandpa who was on his walk.  He’s so sweet.  He was walking while my grandma was doing an aerobics class. 

I ran by one of my childhood homes.  I used to think this house was so pretty because of the colored brick.  There were 5 of us living in this house (my parents and we three girls).  It was originally a two bedroom but my parents converted the three season room in the rear of the house  into a master bedroom.  The house was so small but we didn’t care.  It was a very nice neighborhood.  I used to climb the two big trees in our yard.  Both the big one you see in the front and a lovely maple in the back.  Memories…

Funny because as each one of us girls moved out of my parents house, they proceeded to move into bigger houses.  The house they’re in now is huge and it’s just the two of them.

Business NEWS — I worked 4-8 today.

I love this jacket and I get lots of compliments on it when I wear it.  It’s by Tulle.   I just have to remember not to wear my Pandora bracelets with it because the turquoise threads get pulled and caught on the bracelets (which angers me).

 

I was bad because I didn’t make dinner.  I had a chili dog and Wisconsin cheese curds w/ranch from A&W.  Oops (again). 

Came home to my lovely family.  We’re more than half way through the week, people!!

Questions…  Why sign up for a 1/2 marathon or any other race when you can do it on your own?  Why the stress?  Why pay the $?  I don’t get it.  Help me understand.

3 Responses to “Suicide Girls. Oh Yessss.”

  1. Holly @ RUST BELT RUNNER August 11, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    Wow! Your grandparents are still around? That is so precious!

    As far as sigining up for the race, you will push yourself harder. You can go for speed in a race, unlike you would in a training run.

    There is a lot of race adrenaline and it just makes for a unique experience! Plus then you can officially brag you are a half-marathoner. Folks don’t usually care if you ran 13.1 miles at home. But when you say.. “Oh I ran the X race, I’m a half-marathoner.” Then it counts! And then you can put the 13.1 sticker on your car too.

    • Shelly in MI August 11, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

      I’m fortunate. I had all 4 of my grandparents until 2007 when we lost my dad’s dad. They all live in the same town so I get to see them often. They’re all sooo sweet. I’m (we’re) very lucky.

      The bumper sticker thing didn’t sell me. My parents raised us girls that bumper stickers depreciate your vehicle so I’d never be able to put a 13.1 sticker on my car.

      Maybe, I can warm up to running a marathon. NEXT YEAR.

  2. @adriennewraps August 12, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    No elite runner validates themselves through road races. Retarded. The only reason to ever run a road race is to win the prize money. When I ran races it was because I got paid. I have 2 private school college degrees that I paid for with running.

Leave a Reply

