I Run A Lot But Not Always…

9 Aug

Woke up today feeling silly so I dressed silly.

I wore my new green skirt and purple tights from Urban Outfitters.  I liked it because I had a lot of color going on.

Came home and in exchange for running, I ate lunch. 

When I was finally ready to run at about 3:30, it was raining and a big thunderstorm was on its way.  I decided it was a good day to run on the treadmill.  In the past, my treadmill routine was pretty blah — 6 mph for 40 minutes.

 

Today, once I got going, I switched between 5 minutes at 6 mph and 2 minutes at 8 mph.  I finished with a little over 6 miles (no incline).  Running outside is definitely preferred but my treadmill kept me from skipping my workout altogether.

When I run inside, I like to wear my Vibram Fivefingers but I was prepped for running outside so I wore my Livestrong Nike Free’s.

 

Holly@rustbeltrunner.com asked what I think about Nike Free’s and whether I considered myself a minimalist.  I don’t consider myself anything.  I do own VFF but I have troubles with them on the uneven country roads.  I try to only wear the VFF on the high school track or on my treadmill.  I took the VFF on a cruise this last April and they worked great on a snorkeling excursion, on the ship’s treadmill and were good with all the walking I did while on that vacation.

I been running a lot this summer.   I like it.  It’s addicting.  I want to see how far I can push myself (14.35 miles so far).  I get depressed and running helps me feel good naturally. 

As far as the shoes I like to wear?  To be honest, when I buy a pair of shoes, I buy them because I like how they look.  I know now that I’ve made that statement that no other runner will take me serious but it’s true.  I wanted black shoes the last time I was shopping for shoes.  I will say that I’ve had a pair of Nike Free’s before and I liked them.  The only thing I don’t like about them is that they pick up a lot of little stones which I end of bringing in the house.  It’s about time to retire the Nike Free’s because I’ve put a lot of miles on them this year.  No worries though because I have a new pair of Mizuno shoes that I picked up about 3 weeks ago…

Why’d I pick these Mizuno’s?  Because they’re loud and obnoxious, that’s why.

To date, I’ve only done about 3 or 4 5k’s so far.  Every one of them made me extremely anxious before (like starting once I signed up).  I’m not competitive and no matter how I tried to rationalize with myself that I was only competing with myself, I couldn’t get over the awful feelings I was having.   I’m thinking about doing a 1/2 marathon in Lansing next month but I can’t get myself to sign up.  Besides, I can run a 1/2 marathon on my own, listening to my music.  It’s so peaceful.  I would ruin the experience for myself if I signed up for a 1/2 marathon.

As far as my running history.  I’ve eased into running in the last 3-4 years.  I wasn’t able to run outside when the temperature was below 50 degrees.  I have a treadmill and would use it on colder days but I really don’t like it… so boring.  When I did run outside, I’d run around my block which I thought was a feat but it was same run every time which was 3.5 miles.  I definitely plateaued.

Things got better this spring.  I got a free GPS app on my Iphone and then traded up to a Garmin 405 watch.  Knowing how far I’ve run and my pace are big for me.  They’re incentive for me to push myself.  I’m more comfortable just running and running…

I hope that when things get colder I can keep running outside.  I realize that living in Michigan that there will be days where I won’t be able to run outside and I’ll deal with that when I get to those days.  As long as I ice, I feel pretty good (right knee and sometimes my right hip get angry).  Plus, the running has to be helping my Osteopenia that I was diagnosed with about 12 years ago.

One Response to “I Run A Lot But Not Always…”

  1. Holly @ RUST BELT RUNNER August 10, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Great post! Thank you for sharing and addressing my questions! I find your response on the shoes to be very interesting. I would also not wear the VFF on country roads. I want to wear mine to a 5K, but only a paved route, none of this gravel garbage.

    You can SO do a half! You’ve already run past that on your own. I vote you sign up.

Leave a Reply

