Jiminy Cricket! What Chu Want?

12 Jul

Damn that Jiminy Cricket!  He showed up first this morning and told me I was being greedy w/my new shoe purchase.  I guess I do have a similar pair so he said I needed to return the newest pair.  I asked Mick for his opinion and that Mother Trucker agreed.  Smaahh!  What evs!  I’ll do it next week.

Woke up regular time and went to work.  Forget the running early in the morning because I just can’t make it happen.  Err! 

Had a friend at work take my pic so that the world could see me hard at work (talking on the phone – NO, I’m not a phone solicitor because people call me about the millions of dollars they give me (er, my company)). 

Breakfast sucked because it was plain ole’ oatmeal and greek yogurt.  I was starving by the time I left work and went home to chow.  Due to my chowing, there was no way to run for eat least two hours.

 Since I had two hours to waste, I figured I could get rid of my runner’s tan since I have to wear a strapless pantsuit on Friday.  I smothered sunscreen everywhere except for the intended areas.  Couldn’t find a bandeau top so fashioned a bandeau type top out of a triangular bikini top.  It looked foul and stupid but I wasn’t leaving my house so who cares, right? 

I came in to show my two sons a song I made on “Songify”, a free app I found when I was bored out of my mind on the deck.  I spoke into my Ipod about how I loved my dogs and the app created a neat ditty of a song.  I sent it to twitter just to totally embarrass myself (I needed to be punished for the extra dress I bought yesterday).  BTW…Twitter account is “Shellyinmi”.  Kind of forgot that I was supposed to be in hiding w/my horribly concocted bathing suit but Brucee reminded me.  He said, “You know, I can see stuff and it’s really gross”.  Poor little guy. 

Decided to put more sunscreen on and start my run outside.  Started the run at 4:15pm and was able to run 8.6 miles with an 8.44 pace.  It was sooo svetty.  Temp, not taking in the humidity, was 86 and then went down to 84 degrees by the time I was done.  I wore new yoga shorts by Reebok (purplely).  They were very comfy. 

Felt near death.  Sat in the chair for a while trying to will myself to get up and go to the store to get food for dinner.  See, I go to the store daily because I’m extremely unorganized.

 

Dinner was awesome.  Portabella mushrooms w/parmesan cheese, steak, baked potatoes, sweet potato, corn on the cob, Doritos and, to top it off, a Cherry Coke for Momma.

My mom told me to substitute lime for the butter and salt that I usually put on the corn.  Took half a lime and rubbed it on the corn cob.  It wasn’t as good as salt and butter but it was still pretty good…different. 

Sweet dreams….

4 Responses to “Jiminy Cricket! What Chu Want?”

  1. Eat:Watch:Run July 13, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    You run at my dream speed! Oh, and I really like that running top. That’s gotta help cool you down when you want to wear a t-shirt but don’t want to be all confined.

    So, now I need to know…is that a bejeweled animal head on your wall?

    • Shelly in MI July 13, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      It is. It’s a steer head covered w turquoise.

  2. Tiff July 13, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    8.6 miles with an 8.44 pace is pretty darn impressive! No need for morning runs – 4:15 seems to be working for ya.

  3. Margot - Faster Bunny July 14, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    yeah nice job on the run. Love the cricket pic. haha.
    I just tried lime (or lemon) on corn and really like it! I think maybe chili powder is the next experiment!

Leave a Reply

