Land of Milk and Honey…

10 Jul

Up and at ’em at 7am and off a runnin’.  I ran 12.26 miles (every one hundredth of a mile counts) at an 8:29 mile pace.  Temp was around 70 degrees.  Took two water breaks and one picture.  Oh, and got bit in the forehead by a horsefly (they were merciless today).

Saw a skunk first thing. 

Saved a turtle in town.

I listened to the Fat Boys (80’s rap) radio station on Pandora.  I haven’t heard it  forever but it took all my self-control not to start jammin’ to The Humpty Dance by Digital Underground.  “Land of Milk and Honey” was mentioned in the song, “The Message” by Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five.  What a riot!

What was the name of that movie John Candy was in where he got sent to the mansion with all the weirdo’s.  Dan Aykroyd was in it and he a nose that looked like a penis?  Classic (I just have a horrible memory).

Here I am at the mile and a 1/2 mark lookin’ like heck… Not a good sign.

After my great run, Mick and I lied to the kids by telling them we were just going to town but we met up w/family at a local dive for breakfast.  I had eggs, rye toast, bacon and hashbrowns.   Disgusting and naughty, I know.   Mick ate healthy cause he has more self-control than I do.  

**Warning: SUBJECT CHANGE — Here’s little Bella.  She’s my 2 1/2 lb blue chihuahua.  She’s 7 years old.  Normally, she cowers and I can’t get her picture but she was open to it this time… Ears up mean she’s modeling, I think…

Since yesterday afternoon, I’ve been so frustrated trying to buy airfare for our cruise.  I need tickets to Puerto Rico and I’ve been watching daily.  The price hovers around $500 to $700 a ticket.  Yesterday, I spied the tickets at $409.  Sweet!!!  Tried to buy and it said, “sold out”.  Checking today and it has the same price but still sold out.  So annoying.

Kind of got excited because I talked Mick into going shopping with me today.  We have a wedding this Friday and he needs a jacket and Momma  needs a new dress (duhhh, you always have to have a new dress, right?).  We had it all planned out… My daughter, The Who (or Who Ha), was supposed to take her brothers to a movie and then out for a meal.  Well, Roo, the 15 1/2 year old had soccer tonight at 6pm and my daughter didn’t want to make an extra trip into town (cause she’s house sitting for her boyfriend’s parents for two weeks) to get him there.  So, he was going to go w/Mick and I shopping but he said, “nope, not happenin'”.  Arghh!  This was a true sabotage.  I’m almost devastated — my life is borderline ruined.~~~ I will be shopping alone sometime this week (without stupid boys). 

Besides watching more True Blood DVD’s, I decided to get some blood flowin’ by going into the workout room to do 3 easy sets of bi’s, tri’s and delt’s.  I did some side and back lifts too.  Plus, I try to do the plank as often as I think of it.

Dinner…  Dinner was very good but that’s because Mick made it.  He put tons of spices on some chicken breasts and grilled them.  He cut up zucchini, yellow summer squash, mini bella mushrooms and white onion and again, wouldn’t tell me what he seasoned them with…

Mick wouldn’t turn around for a pic… (old outdated kitchen, I know, I’m working on it)

I asked to be his sous chef tonight but he blocked me.  When he left to go get Roo, I went ahead and put together some cooled ramen noodles, orange pepper, baby spinach, garbanzo beans, tortilla strips and light italian dressing.  I cut up some watermelon too.  Since the boys weren’t back yet, I started eating dinner w/o them.   It’s what they would have wanted…

Gotta get my sleep on since I’m going to try to get up super early tomorrow to run before work.  My vacation is sooo over.

3 Responses to “Land of Milk and Honey…”

  1. Blonde Ponytail July 11, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    Thanks for visiting my blog Shelly! Your early morning pic cracks me up!! ha! And you halfway point is hilarious! Great run by the way!!

    I hope you see some stellar ticket prices soon. Have you ever been to PR?

    • Shelly in MI July 11, 2011 at 2:15 am #

      I’ve been to PR a couple of times just to board a ship. Never vacationed there before.

  2. Victoria July 11, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    Thanks for stopping by! I’ve heard 300-500. 500 was too much for me because I’m a heavy heel striker.

    Impressive pace! You are speedy!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

