4th of July…

4 Jul

Crawled out of bed at 7 and started my run at 7:20. 

Great run.  Tallied up to 9.2 miles with no rest (none needed).  The biting flies were horrible in the last 1/2 mile but that just made me run faster.  My average pace per mile was 8:28.  I want to thank my husband for suggesting the Gerry Rafferty station on Pandora.  It was a nice change of pace from what I normally listen to. 

Our boys were still up North so Mick and I rode into town to the car show.  Here are my favorites…

The Woodie…Owned by Dick Lahaie (top fuel racer/crew chief)…

My camera phone doesn’t show the incredible detail of the wood grain…

Aud our buddy/neighbor Nick’s truck (’53 Ford F150)…Nick ended up winning the truck class.

At 5pm, we went to my parents for dinner.  One of my sisters and her family were there.  My “Dumb It” Grandma (my Dad’s mom) was there as well.  Love to get together w/my family.  So lucky!!

Now some people love the 4th of July fireworks.  Me, not so much.  First, I’m not too impressed by the whole firecracker/flashlight in the sky.  We can see ’em at baseball games so it’s not like I won’t get another chance.  I don’t like when the fireworks are over, the way you get stuck in your car at the fairgrounds or the school parking lot or wherever it is that you have  to be to get a good view.  Plus, the mosquitos…I cannot stand to be fed off.  

Mick and the boys will go to the fireworks but I’m exhausted so I’m going to call it a night. ..

4 Responses to “4th of July…”

  1. Holly @ RUST BELT RUNNER July 5, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    You are a hardcore runner for sure! Impressed with your mileage!

    • Shelly in MI July 5, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

      I would say I was hardcore if I kept it up for a long time. I was running the same route (3.6 miles) for like 3 years. I’ve just recently (3 weeks) jumped up to higher mileage. I hope I can keep it up and not hurt myself. Thank you very much for the compliment.

  2. tricia July 5, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    great run! love that shirt, where is it from?

    • Shelly in MI July 6, 2011 at 1:13 am #

      Thanks. That shirts like 3 or 4 years old, I think. I either got it from Journey’s or Urban Outfitters.

Leave a Reply

