Struggled today…

21 Jun

Overall, I’m doing this blog to give myself incentive from yet another angle to keep up my running.  I want to increase my mileage and if all goes well, maybe do a 1/2 marathon.  It’s too soon to say if I could actually pull it off so I’m not getting my hopes up.   I know, I said no timed, organized races but I change my mind all the time.  Never say never and….Insane in da membrane…Crazy Insane, Got No Brain…

Anywho….Set my alarm for 5:30am and blew it off again.  That was my mistake and I’ll explain later.  Had to be to work at 8am.  Made an unsuspecting coworker take my picture…

I got a lot of strange looks from other coworkers.  What’s the big whoop?  What can I say?  I love my tulip shirt.  It’s an oldie but a goodie that I purchased last year.  I got my crackle high heals when I was in Mexico.  I won’t take a close-up picture of those because I’m in major need of a pedi. 

Didn’t make my usual oatmeal which is fine because I have a supply of Slimfast meal bars in my drawer which has a tiny warning on the box which says,  “Excess Consumption May Have A Laxative Effect.”  I don’t know about you but that warning scares the bejesus out of me.  I don’t overdo it with the bars but it still frightens me.

Okay, thought I’d share a little of my work cubicle with you.  I have a “Michigan Turd Burd” at my desk.   I bought it as a “secret santa” gift for a coworker who didn’t appreciate it.  I could tell she was going to toss it as soon as my back was turned so I offered to take it back.  The Burd and I have been together ever since (talking maybe 12 years?!).

He doesn’t smell.  They treated him with something.  When I bump him, he bobs. 

When I got home, I had great plans to run my block 2 times which would give me 7.2 miles.  I threw a bottle of water at the end of my driveway thinking I’d grab a drink after one lap and keep going.  Well, it was extremely humid and 83 degrees.  I ran one time around, drank a little water and took off for another lap.  I made it to the top of the hill and thought I was going to throw-up or faint so I turned around and finished with a total of 4 miles.   Disappointed.  I really need to do my run early when I know the days are going to be hot. 

Very svetty…

 Somebody needs to weed, eh?  My yard’s huge and that job would be mine. 

I signed up for a 6pm Good Form Running clinic at my favorite footwear and apparel store who specialize in running and walking.   I ran w/my shoes and barefoot while they videotaped.  In slow motion, they showed us both a 2004 race with Olympic runners and they showed us ourselves running about 20 yards.  It was interesting to see how I look when I run.  With time, I’m hoping to have better form as I don’t need any injuries.  I’m glad I went.  I’m signing up for the 2nd course that they offer. 

To finish up my night, watched a little Tosh.0 with the kiddies.  Not a good show for a 13 year old.  I should know better…

 

Leave a Reply

